A browser is used every day for a multitude of tasks. As more applications are offered via cloud, the browser tends to hold on to more and more information, and over time it can cause problems with logging into or bringing up websites. It’s a good idea to clear browser history on a regular basis. With the availability of MyApps.BoiseSchools.org, saved browser data can cause conflict. Privacy is more secure and the browser will work better.
But how? The following steps are provided for Google Chrome Browser.
Using shortcut keys, while the browser window is active, on your keyboard hold Ctrl+Shift then tap Delete. (Backspace on a Chromebook) this will open a 'Clear data' box'
- At the top select Advanced
- In the time range selection, select the beginning of time.
- Check the boxes for the info you want to clear, including “browsing history." In most cases checking ALL the boxes is best. (Myapps.boiseschools.org saves your passwords for BSD accounts related content.)
- Click Clear browsing data.
To delete your search history, learn about clearing activity saved in My Activity.
Tip: What do all those boxes under browsing history mean?
- Browsing history: Clearing browsing history deletes the following:
- Web addresses visited are removed from the History page.
- Shortcuts to those pages are removed from the New Tab page.
- Address bar predictions for those websites are no longer shown.
- Download history: The list of files downloaded using Chrome is cleared, but the actual files aren't removed from the device.
- Cached images and files: Browsers remember parts of pages to help them open faster during the next visit. Text and images from pages visited in Chrome are removed.
- Cookies and other site data: Cookies, site data and handlers are deleted,
- Cookies: Cookies are files created by websites. They make online experience easier by saving browsing information.
- Site data: HTML5-enabled storage types including application caches, Web Storage data, Web SQL Database data, and Indexed Database data.
- Handlers. Chrome allows external applications and web services to open certain links.
- Passwords: Records of websites with usernames and passwords saved/ignored are deleted.
- Auto-fill form data: Auto-fill entries are deleted, including addresses and credit cards.
- Hosted app data: Data from hosted apps is erased.
- Hosted applications are hosted and powered from the remote cloud infrastructure and are accessed globally through the Internet like Infinite Campus.
- Media licenses: Licenses for HTML5 or Flash protected content, like movies or music that you’ve played or downloaded, are deleted.
Let us know how you like this article in the comments below!